• Nilgiri Mountain railway is one of the oldest mountain railways in India.
  • The NMR railway  is 1,000 mm meter gauge and the railway is isolated from other meter gauge lines
  • This mountain train route made by British Government about 1908.

  • The construction comments starts in 1854 and end in 1899, and the construction was a big challenge.
  • The stream engine is used in this train, during the travel they fills water for this engine.
  • At  2,600m stands the Queen of Hill Stations  Udhagamandalam (Ooty).
  • This  NMR climbs the 6159 feet from Mettupalayam to Udhagmandalam over a distance of 46 km.
    Front coach of the train - ooty-mountain-train-information - factins
    Front coach of the train


  • The railway  relies on its fleet of steam locomotives
  • This mountain route has  16 tunnels,  250 bridges, 205 sharp curves and extraordinary natural scenery of the Nilgiri Hills visible all along the way.
  • Due to this amazing experience with nature UNESCO announced this in World Heritage List as Mountain Railways in India in 2008.
  • Mountain Railways in India includes Darjeeling Himalayan Railway, Kalka–Shimla Railway and  Nilgiri Mountain Railway


  • There is one train a day over the rack section, which starts from Mettupalayam at 07:10 and reaches Ooty at noon. The return train starts from Ooty at 14:00, and reaches Mettupalayam at 17:35. The average journey time takes about 5hours.
  • The train, for obvious safety reasons, averages 10.4 km per hour and is perhaps the slowest in India.
  • Four coaches are used till the Coonoor after that one more coach be added for passenger board.Engine is connected backside of the train.
  • The ticketing system will be done though online as well as through manual at the board of leave. It’s much appreciated if you go early and reserve.

Related Post

Ooty mountain train facts and information
Tagged on:             

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

5 + 6 =