There are 19 different heritage places are designated by UNESCO in natural, historic and Indigenous heritage places categories. Australia contains the oldest rain-forests on earth and around one-third of the world’s protected marine areas. Australia has plenty of natural places which needs to be protected.

1. Australian Convict Sites :

Australian Convict Sites are built within the British Empire during the 18th and 19th centuries. The sites are built in the coastal areas near to Sydney, Tasmania, Norfolk Island, and Fremantle. Out of 3000 convict sites 11 Convict Sites were selected as Heritage places by UNESCO. These sites are the example for the best surviving examples of large-scale convict transportation.




2. Royal Exhibition Building and Carlton Gardens :

The Royal Exhibition Building is a building located in Melbourne. The construction was completed in 1880. It has unique design in architecture. It was attracted by many sources. It was designated as UNESCO Heritage place in 2004.




3. Sydney Opera House :

It is considered as one of the most famous and distinctive buildings in 20th century. Sydney Opera House became a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 2007. It is displays the brilliant architecture style. The place was designed by danish architect. The building was opened on 1973.




4. Australian Fossil Mammal Sites Riversleigh / Naracoorte :

Riversleigh is located in Queensland, It is Australia’s most famous fossil site. The Fossil remains of ancient mammals, birds and reptiles found in the catchment of Gregory River. Naracoorte is a National Park located in South Australia. The park preserves 6 km² of remnant vegetation, with 26 caves. It was considered as Heritage place in 1994.




5.  Fraser Island :

Fraser Island is an island located in Queensland. It is approximately 120 kilometres in length. It is one of the beautiful attractions in Australia. This place was designated as Heritage Site in 1992. The island has rainforests, eucalyptus woodland, mangrove forests, wallum and peat swamps, sand dunes and coastal heaths.




6.  Gondwana Rainforests of Australia :

Also known as Central Eastern Rainforest Reserves. It spread over 366,500 hectares from Newcastle to Brisbane. It is one the biggest rainforest in the world. It was considered as UNESCO Site in 1994.




7.  Great Barrier Reef :

The Great Barrier Reef is a site of remarkable variety and beauty on the north-east coast of Australia spreaded over 2300 kilometres. It is homeshelter for thousands of fishes and coral. It was part of UNESCO in 1981.



8.  Greater Blue Mountains Area :

Greater Blue Mountains Area is a sandstone tableland that encompasses 1.03 million hectares. It is Located in Blue Mountains of New South Wales. This area contains rare plants, sheer cliffs, rivers, lakes and various animals.



9.  Heard and McDonald Islands :

These islands are among the most remote places on Earth. They are located 4000 km from southwest of Perth and 3800 km from southwest of Cape Leeuwin. Overall size is 372 km2. The temperature ranges between 0 to 5.2 °C. These islands contains large numner of fungi. Smaller size wetlands can be found in Heard Island. It is also homeshelter for plenty of animals and species.


10. Lord Howe Island Group :

It is a crescent-shaped volcanic remnant, located in Tasman Sea between Australia and New Zealand. It is about 10 km long. It has 28 islands, popular islands are Lord Howe Island, Admiralty Group, Mutton Bird Islands, and Balls Pyramid. Lord Howe Island Group was added to UNESCO as Natural Heritage Place in 1982.




11. Macquarie Island :

Macquarie Island located between New Zealand and Antarctica.It was part of UNESCO in 1997 as Natural Heritage place.The island is entirely occupied by royal penguin.The island is about 34 km long and 5 km wide.




12. Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park :

This park, formerly called Uluru.It is located in central Australia. Traditional owners of Uluru-Kata Tjuta are the Anangu Aboriginal people. UNESCO Considered this as “One of the oldest human societies in the world”. It was included in UNESCO in 1987.

Uluru-Kata Tjuta National Park


13. The Willandra Lakes Region :

The Willandra Lakes Region located in New South Wales. 240,000-hectare (590,000-acre) area was consideres as World Heritage List in 2007 .This place is the traditional meeting place of the Muthi Muthi, Nyiampaar and Barkinji Aboriginal tribes. It is estimated that it was formed before two million years ago. These lakes are now dry. Most of this lake are fringed by a crescent shaped dune or lunette.

The Willandra Lakes Region


References : [1], [2]

UNESCO Heritage Places in Australia
Tagged on:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

11 − 3 =